Skip to main content


Marilyn Butefish Award

Established in 1986, this perpetual award was created as a memorial to member Marilyn Butefish. It is presented annually by WSA in recognition of a WSA member who has made an exceptional contribution to the promotion of women’s sailing through service to WSA. This award recognizes service that goes “beyond mere performance of duty.”

The 2023 Marilyn Butefish Award went to  to Wendy Northup for serving as Commodore for a second term in 2023. She was instrumental in helping WSA create a strategic plan for the future and she continues to support women on the water by taking members on her boat, Sadelier, for cruises and day sails.

This gorgeous trophy is currently on display at Santa Monica Windjammers Yacht Club.

Nominations for the award are taken at our October General Meeting and voted on at the November General Meeting. 

Nominate a member for the Butefish Award


1986 – Cheryl Mahaffey
1987 – Gail Hine
1988 – Suzanne Conklin
1989 – Janet Forbes
1990 – Allison Jolli
1991 – Julie Ricklefs
1992 – Judith Endler
1993 – Birdie Feldman
1994 – Fran Thom
1995 – Julie Ricklefs
1996 – Constance Miller
1997 – Lindalee Fromm
1998 – Dawn Andrews
1999 – Pamela Fowell
2000 – Charlie Warner
2001 – Fran Weber-Melville
2002 – Julia Brown
2003 – Carla Thorson
2004 – Sue Service
2005 – Dana Hutton
2006 – Karyn Jones
2007 – Libby Gill
2008 – Kim Stuart
2009 – Sue Service
2010 – Jeannea Jordan
2011 – Diane Larson
2012 – Christina Tarantola
2013 – Wayne Brandow
2014 – George Maronich
2015 – John Nelson
2016 – Sam Wagner & Ruthe Small
2017 – Melody Kanschat & Jana Davis
2018 – Barbara Morris
2019 – Jeannea Jordan
2021 – Mike Gitchell
2022 – Cloyd Milton & Maria Langford
2023 – Wendy Northup

Peggy Slater Award

Sponsored by the Southern California Yachting Association, the Peggy Slater Memorial Award is  presented annually to a female involved in the sport of sailing who best demonstrates outstanding contributions to the enhancement of women’s participation in sailing or individual achievement in the sport of sailing.

WSASMB submits nominations for this award to SCYA and ASMBYC in the fall. As a member, you can nominate a person you feel is eligible to be considered for this distinguished privilege. Submissions are completed by the Board of Directors

Contact Us

P.O. Box 10034
Marina Del Rey, CA 90292